A Canvas Using Paper Scraps, Real Leaves and Charm Street Cutie April

IMG_7823

I adore the amazing colours of Autumn and, as I was walking with my dog in the local park one day, I picked up three sycamore leaves in yellow, orange and red, all differing sizes.  They looked beautiful and I felt compelled to do something with them.

And then this idea was conceived and developed.  I started with a blank canvas and scraps of Dotty papers and Watercolour Love papers.  At first I tried throwing caution to the wind and adding them randomly to the canvas……but that’s not really ‘me’!  So I reverted to my norm and placed them in a more organised fashion.  I stuck them to the canvas with lots of PVA glue and added more PVA glue over the top of all the paper patchwork.

The largest leaf was scrunched up and stuck to the bottom of my canvas with copious amounts of PVA glue.  The smallest leaf was kept mostly whole and added to the left of my canvas.  I sprinkled a generous volume of Glamour Dust to the wet PVA glue on the leaves and left it a few hours to dry.

Meanwhile, I printed and coloured my April, from the Charm Street Cuties cd.  (She is also available individually here.). A Teal Always Believe journaling card, rainbow and a few clouds were also printed and cut out.  These elements were attached to my canvas with foam pads and some Stickles added and Gloss added to the boots and puddle.

I have my little piece of Autumn, with my favourite shades of turquoise, teal and mint, hanging in my craft room, making me smile every day!  It was tremendous fun getting a little messier than normal too!!!!

Leave a Reply

